DKE Flag




















The History of 

Delta Kappa Epsilon






The Founders of DKE were 

William Woodruff Atwater

Edward Griffin Bartlett, Frederic Peter Bellinger Jr.

Henry Case, George Foote Chester

John Butler Conyngham, Thomas Isaac Franklin

William Walter Horton, William Boyd Jacobs

Edward Van Schoonhoven Kinsley

Chester Newell Righter, Elisha Bacon Shapleigh

Thomas DuBois Sherwood

Albert Everett Stetson, and Orson William Stow.


On Saturday, June 22, 1844, these Yale College undergraduates met in No. 12 Old South Hall and established a new society they called DELTA KAPPA EPSILON. The Fraternity's open motto, "Kerothen Philoi Aei"--or "Friends from the Heart, Forever"--was adopted, as was the DKE pin and the secret grip.


Since 1844, Deke has grown an international brotherhood 

of more than 64 chapters, initiating more than 85,000 members 

in the U.S. and Canada.



Delta Pi of ΔKE ~ Illinois    ~    Delta Psi of ΔKE ~ Indiana   ~    Psi Phi of ΔKE ~ DePauw


Post Office Box 813     Greencastle,  Indiana  46135